Governmental Relations and Advocacy

The members of this committee will work closely with the Director of Governmental Relations to monitor those legislative and otherwise political activities that may impact Illinois public schools.   The Committee shall serve as a statewide voice for excellence in education and shall work to ensure that legislative positions, public positions of IASA, and governmental communications shall accurately reflect the interests of administrators and students across Illinois.

The Committee shall meet to consider proposed legislation, House and Senate Bills, State Board of Education positions and other matters, which would affect public education and will work closely with the Director of Communications to prepare necessary and appropriate responses that may be available for all members within their school community and across the State of Illinois.

Members also serve as one of the Region’s representatives to the Governmental Strategies Delegation.


Chair
Dr. Kevin J. O'Mara, Supt.
Argo Comm #217
komara@argohs.net

Associate Chair
Dr. Scott E. Doerr, Supt.
Nokomis Comm #22

Associate Chair
Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams
Hazel Crest #152-5
swilliams@sd1525.org    
 
Associate Chair
Cliff McClure
Paxton-Buckley-Loda CU #10
cmcclure@pblpanthers.org  

 
Abe Lincoln
Adam Ehrman
Community Unit #16
aehrman@pretzelpride.com 
 
Blackhawk
Dr. Jay Morrow, Supt.
United Twp HS #30
jmorrow@uths.net 

Central IL Valley
Shannon Duling, Supt.
Princeville #326
sduling@princeville326.org 

Cook North
Dr. Scott B. Thompson, Supt.
Palatine CC #15
thompso@ccsd15.net

Cook South
Dr. Darryl Taylor, Supt.
Lincoln Elem #156
dtaylor@l156.org 

Cook West
Dr. Edward J. Condon, III, Supt.      
River Forest #90                               
condone@district90.org                      

Corn Belt
Gary R. Tipsord, Supt.
LeRoy Comm #2
tipsordg@leroyk12.org

Du Page
Dr. Gwynne Kell, Supt.
Winfield #34
gkell@winfield34.org

Egyptian
Keith J. Hagene, Supt.
Pinckneyville Comm #101
khagene@pchspanthers.com

Illini
Dr. Crystal Johnson, Supt.
Rossville-Alvin #7
larsona@unity.k12.il.us

Kaskaskia
Jeff Strieker, Supt.
Litchfield #12
jstrieker@litchfieldpanthers.org

Kishwaukee
Travis McGuire, Supt.
Hinckley Big Rock #429
tmcguire@hbr429.org

Lake
Dr. Brian Harris, Supt.
Barrington #220
bharris@barrington220.org 

Northwest
Thomas D. Mahoney
Oregon #220
tmahoney@ocusd.net 

Shawnee
Dr. Steve Webb, Supt.
Goreville Comm Unit #1
swebb@gorevilleschools.com  

Southwestern
Leigh A. Lewis, Supt.
Triad Comm #2
leigh.lewis@triadunit2.org

Starved Rock
Matt Seaton, Supt.
Streator Twp HS #40
mseaton@streatorhs.org

Three Rivers
Dr. Cheryl McCarthy, Supt.
Joliet Twp #204
cmccarthy@jths.org

Two Rivers
Dr. Kerry L. Cox, Supt.
Carrollton #1
kcox@c-hawks.org 

Wabash Valley
William S. Fritcher, Supt.
Teutopolis #50
fritcherb@ttown.k12.il.us

Western
Ralph E. Grimm, Supt.
Galesburg #205
rgrimm@galesburg205.org

   
CLOSE